Student Profile: Michael Conroy

2016 Futures Award winners

Michael

Name: Michael Conroy

Course: BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing

Why did you decide to take part in the Futures Award programme?

I decided to get involved in the Futures Award programme in order to try something different, while developing some new skills at the same time.

Has the Futures Award programme given you the confidence to try something that you may not have done before?

It has helped me gain confidence in trying new things, like attending workshops, volunteering, and doing part time work for the university.

Would you recommend the Futures Award to current students?

I’d recommend the Futures Award as it’s a great way to learn new skills and looks great on your CV.

Has the Futures Award programme helped you to prepare for your future career?

One of the activities I completed for the award was a 10-week course called The Writing Project, which helped keep my writing and grammar skills in good shape, both of which are important for any job. The different workshops on improving employability, finding a job and so on were all very helpful, too, and I’m sure they’ll help me in the future. I don’t really know what I want to do other than be a writer at this point, which is why I’ll be studying the MFA in Creative Writing at The Manchester Writing School come September.

Can you summarise Futures in one word or sentence?

The Futures Award is a fantastic opportunity for all students to get some extra-curricular work done and will help make you stand out for potential employers.

Interested? Find out more about the Futures Award here!

One thought on “Student Profile: Michael Conroy

Leave a comment