Student Profile: Lyba Alam

Lyba

Name: Lyba Alam

Degree: Combined Hons in TESOL with Education studies

Course: Studying MA Education Studies

Why did you decide to take part in the Futures Award programme?

Actually, at first I had no intention of completing the award. However, after browsing the careers website and getting employment advice from my personal tutor I wanted to try something new. I took part in the writing project and two language classes (German and Mandarin); from which I developed new language skills, met new people and started gaining points. I had so much fun that I booked more workshops and learnt more skills. Moreover, I volunteered at a school as part of my degree, but because I enjoyed it so much I completed 50+ hours and got 50 points accredited as part of the Silver award. That’s when I decided the points were worth the fun.

Has the Futures Award programme given you the confidence to try something that you may not have done before?

More than anything, the Futures Award programme has boost my confidence. Before attending workshops, I was only aware of the journey to the lecture room and back home. The workshops have given me confidence in approaching new people, meeting new people, team-work with students on other courses and leadership skills. Something I had never done before was design and present a 5-minute presentation within one hour; I never thought I could work that fast. As the final activity for the Gold Award I was surprised at myself to be able to complete and present the presentation on time.

Would you recommend the Futures Award to current students?

Yes, of course! There are so many workshops and projects to choose from, and these extra- curricular classes are extremely beneficial. It’s something that you wouldn’t regret doing and most importantly you’ll have an Award for your CV from the University you graduated from.

Has the Futures Award programme helped you to prepare for your future career?

Although, I have not finalised a future career plan, I am aware of the options available. The Futures Award programme offers many workshops to prepare you for your chosen career. Career advisors are available to check your CV and offer individual advice. Help is everywhere, just ask!

Can you summarise Futures is one word or sentence?

It’s worth it. The hours become beneficial points for your future.

Interested? Find out more about the Futures Award here!

 

One thought on “Student Profile: Lyba Alam

Leave a Reply

