Student Profile: Miles Capper

Miles

Name: Miles Capper

Course: BSc Chemistry

Did you complete any of the advanced skills workshops in your subject area?

One of my final year modules was Environmental Risk management which involved the use of software that I was unfamiliar with. I was also aware that I could complete a Lynda.com course to count towards my Futures Award. I was able to complete two courses that were specific to the software I was using. This was a useful interlinking of my subject area and the Futures programme which was beneficial to me getting the grade I wanted.

Have you attended any of the interdisciplinary workshops this year?

Like many students, I was required to take up a part time job to fund myself throughout my studies. Initially, I was employed through Jobs4Students as an IT rover and was able to progress into various roles of responsibility such as IT Assistant and IT Coordinator. This employment contributed towards my Futures Award. This invaluable experience has led to me gaining professional employment with the NHS and AQA.

Which workshop(s) would you recommend and why?

The Writing Project – As I was heading into my final year I was aware that I would be required to complete a research project that would require a substantial amount of writing. I would recommend this workshop as for me it highlighted a lot of writing techniques and skills that I wasn’t aware of (or had forgotten). I credit this course in helping me to gain a First Class Honours in my dissertation as it introduced me to some new writing concepts and how to produce an engaging piece of work. Additionally, the classes were always interesting and had a friendly atmosphere.

Has the Futures programme given you the confidence to try something that you may not have done before?

I have always enjoyed writing and when I saw the chance to write for Humanity Hallows, which would count towards my Futures Award, I decided to have a go. This was one of my favourite activities as it was completely new and seeing my work published was a proud moment.

Do you think that your confidence has grown by taking part in the Futures Award?

Yes, as a lot of the time you will be taken out of your comfort zone in the outside world and the variety of activities helps you to prepare for this.

What do you think the benefits of taking part in the programme are students from the Faculty of Science and Engineering?

It can work both ways. If you want to bolster your scientific skills there are plenty of activities that will contribute towards this. Alternatively, you can do something completely new outside of your studies.

Can you summarise Futures in one word or sentence?

The opportunity to grow and develop as a person.

 

One thought on “Student Profile: Miles Capper

Leave a Reply

